Courtesy of Cynthia Cruz.

In Belgrade in my hotel room
I return to the self portraits
from the earlier work:

smoking in the tub
while reading
texts on the New Art Practice.

When I step out of the bathroom
and into the music
with no witness.
It still happens.

And when I whisper
into the soft crimson leather
back seat of the parked sedan,
I still exist.

I am here
even when you do not
see me.

I am here
because I say that I am.

Cynthia Cruz is the author of five collections of poetry: Ruin, The Glimmering Room, Wunderkammer, How the End Begins, and Dregs. Her next collection, Guidebooks for the Dead, is forthcoming from Four Way Books in 2020. Her first collection of essays, Disquieting: Essays on Silence is forthcoming in April of 2019.
Explore Related Content